Corporate Governance


The South African Hajj & Umrah Council (SAHUC) is a Registered PBO # 930060856

The current structure of SAHUC is based on organisational membership nationally. There are 28 member organisations who make up the core National General Council (NGC). The number of representatives of each member organisation on the NGC is currently two (2). The responsibilities of the NGC includes, inter alia:

  • Constituting the Board of SAHUC;
  • Determining the scope of the functions of the Board of SAHUC;
  • Amend the Constitution of SAHUC, should the need arise;
  • Appointing the auditors of SAHUC;
  • Approving the annual financial statements of SAHUC;
  • Electing the office bearers of the Board of SAHUC;
  • Determining the framework for and oversee the governance of SAHUC;
  • Approving membership criteria for organisations and individuals who are co-opted or who apply for membership of SAHUC;
  • Determining and reviewing any fees levied by SAHUC.

NGC Member Organisations of SAHUC

  • Africa Muslims Agency
  • Al Ansaar Foundation
  • Al Ansaar Radio
  • Avitrec
  • Awqaf South Africa
  • Central Islamic Trust
  • Crescent of Hope SA
  • Darul Ihsan Islamic Services
  • Islamic Business Chamber
  • Islamic Council of South Africa
  • Islamic Dawah Movement
  • Islamic Forum
  • Islamic Relief Fund
  • Islamic Research Centre
  • Islamic Society Centre
  • Jamiatul Ulama KZN
  • Jamiatul Ulama South Africa
  • Lenasia South Muslim Association
  • Majlisus Shura Al Islami
  • Muslim Assembly
  • Muslim Judicial Council SA
  • Muslim Youth Movement
  • RAUF
  • SAMTA – South African Muslim Travel Association
  • SATHUOA – South African Travel Hajj & Umrah Operators Association
  • Sunni Jamiatul Ulama
  • Sunni Ulama Council
  • UUCSA – United Ulama Council of South Africa

Board of SAHUC

The Board of SAHUC appoints committees to assist it in the performance of its   functions and duties. It may appoint Board, General Council or

Provincial Committee Members or any other persons who are not members of any of the above organs of SAHUC, to such Committees.

Composition of the Board of SAHUC:

  1. President: Moulana Muhammad Vaid
  2. 1st Deputy President: Mr. Shaheen Essop
  3. 2nd Deputy President: Hafiz Ismail Kholvadia
  4. Secretary General: Hafiz Moaaz Casoo
  5. Assistant Secretary General: Hafiz Hassan Choonara
  6. Treasurer: Mr. Asif Essop
  7. Assistant Treasurer: Hafiz Muhammad Maiter
  8. Sheikh Adam Macheso
  9. Sheikh Riad Fataar
  10. Moulana Mohammed Ameer
  11. Qari Moosa Seedat
  12. Mr.Sedick Steenkamp

The Board of SAHUC appoints any of the following committees, inter alia:

  • Audit and Risk Committee
  • Disciplinary and Legal Committee
  • Hajj and Umrah Regulatory Committee
  • Hajj and Medical Mission Committee
  • National Hajj Accreditation Committee
  • National Hajj and Umrah Operators Accreditation Committee

Provincial Executive Committees

The Board of SAHUC ensures that the Provincial Committees operate in terms of the Constitution and that the PEC’s are guided by the policy

framework laid down by the Board of SAHUC from time to time.

The Board of SAHUC determines the mandate and prescribes the terms of reference for the PEC’s.

As and when needed, the Board of SAHUC delegates such of its powers and responsibilities to the PEC’s to enable them to carry out their mandate.